The Annual Report (vol. 3)

2 Jan

I am someone who loves lists. I have a “to-bake” list that classifies every recipe I want to make, sorted by baked good type. I have a “San Francisco to-do” list that groups activities and restaurants by neighborhood. I have a list of chores that, let’s be honest, never gets as short as I’d like.

But my love for lists extends beyond what I should do. I also keep track of the things I already did. Not the chores- the fun stuff. I have a list of where I traveled each year, a list of what I baked, and a list of the happenings I want to remember. While it’s easy to get sucked into worrying that my to-do list is still far too long, it’s a lot nicer and healthier to reflect on the happy things I already did.

It’s become a yearly tradition for me to write an “annual report” that sums up some of my favorite memories for the year. I was inspired by a guy named Nicholas Felton who collects data on his daily life, then publishes an “annual report” for family and friends. Felton inspired me to take all these lists I was already writing, and share them with you. Felton’s own report also tracks more “mundane” activities, like minutes spent commuting or in meetings. I love the point he’s making- but I don’t track my life quite like he does, and my lists focus on the fun. Let’s take a peek at this year’s “data,” shall we?

travel chart

My travel balance tipped further to the work side this year. I got to see some friends and family during a couple of those trips, which makes being on the road a lot nicer. LA was my most frequent destination and if you combine all the Southern California destinations I visited in 2015, that’s 11 trips down to SoCal.

Baking chart

I have nothing against repeating recipes in theory… but in practice, I can only bake so often and I love trying new things. Most of the repeats are fall-ish recipes I make every year: Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Bars, for example. Others are family traditions, like this Apple Crisp.

Some 2015 Fun Facts: 

  • Bakery visits mentioned in my journal: 22 
  • Times I saw my favorite local band perform: 5 (they’re called Heartwatch and you should have a listen)
  • Baton performances completed in front of thousands of people: 1
  • Friends I saw in NYC who don’t live there either: 2
  • ZZ Top Cover bands I saw in concert: 1
  • Magnitude to which I felt grateful for friends and family: as always, non-quantifiable

Now, some data about this blog. I was bummed to see I’d only written 24 posts this year. However, I started my baking blog back in May and have been splitting my attention between the two. I have so many drafts half-written for Culture Cookies- you can expect a lot of new content in 2016!

Here’s a quick look at the year’s most popular posts on Culture Cookies:

Top 5 New Posts of 2015

  1. Let Me Google That For You
  2. Digging In
  3. Off the Charts
  4. Change is in the Air
  5. Best in Class

And 1 Older Post that Technically Cracked the Top 5:

  1. Potato, Potahto (2014)

Thanks to everyone who reads, comments, debates, and shares. I love hearing from you! And now- on to 2016!

7 Responses to “The Annual Report (vol. 3)”

  1. coastalkitchensite February 11, 2016 at 12:23 PM #

    Love this. I’m a to do list kind of person too, but the idea of writing lists of things you’ve done seems like a fun way to reflect and be proud of what you’ve accomplished! 🙂

    Like

    • Felicia Baskin February 11, 2016 at 2:39 PM #

      It is super fun- I love looking back on it later! I update everything as I go and then at the end of the year it’s a nice reflection on what happened in my world.

      Liked by 1 person

      • coastalkitchensite February 11, 2016 at 4:12 PM #

        Im definitely going to start doing that! Thats for the great idea. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Mapping Memories | Culture Cookies - August 7, 2016

    […] the same for other places I’ve lived, and places I’ve visited. I love keeping track of different pieces of my life: it provides a good mix of nostalgia, reflection and general Type A geekery. And it just sounds so […]

    Like

  2. Off the Road | Culture Cookies - December 11, 2016

    […] I keep a sort-of diary, it was really easy to map the places I’ve traveled for work. So naturally, I had to do it. […]

    Like

  3. The 2016 Baking Roundup | sugarsmith - January 7, 2017

    […] year of Sugarsmith, let’s take a look at what happened in 2016. Every year I write an “annual report” to sum up key facts and stats. I started doing the same thing for Sugarsmith last […]

    Like

  4. The Annual Report (vol. 4) | Culture Cookies - January 16, 2017

    […] always take time to reflect on my year and try to remember where the time went. It’s easy to remember the big things: my trip to […]

    Like

What Do You Think?

