If These Streets Could Talk (Picture Prattle)

28 Jan

I’ve always found streetscapes alluring. There’s something about peering down a street that stirs my curiosity. I wonder about the place’s world, its people, its ways. I think about the things that happen there, both important and mundane. I stare down the road, anticipating what lays ahead.

I’m sure my love of streetscapes ties to my love of wandering, to that burst of adrenaline I get when I start to explore. Wandering feels like a choose-your-own-adventure storyline. Should I stick to this street, or turn off? If I do turn, should I go left or right? If I just keep going straight – where will I end up? How will the scenery change as I continue on?

Whenever I get back from a trip I realize that about 50% of my photos are streetscapes. I’ve framed many of them and put them up on my walls. Gazing at these photos provides a sense of serenity, but also a sense of possibility. They inspire me to let my creativity wander, to let my brain go down its own path. They remind me of the thrill of adventure, and the rush of discovery.

Here are some of my favorite shots from the last several years. Where will you wander next?

3 Responses to “If These Streets Could Talk (Picture Prattle)”

  1. chris@peopledplaces January 28, 2015 at 8:12 PM #

    Montreal and Quebec City I hope. Love the Jerusalem pic. How could one not wonder what’s up that path?

    Like

    • Felicia Baskin January 28, 2015 at 11:06 PM #

      I spent a tiny bit of time in Montreal/Quebec a few years ago, and I’d say their streets are definitely ripe for wandering. I’d love to go back there and get to explore more!

      Glad you liked the Jerusalem picture. Jerusalem is full of intriguing vistas. What an interesting place.

      Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Craving a City | Culture Cookies - February 14, 2016

    […] city has its own rhythm and flavor. When you walk through its streets, you feel a certain way. The building blocks of a city combine to produce something excitingly […]

    Like

What Do You Think?

