Something Unexpected (Recipe Round-Up)

3 Dec
DSCN1370

Butternut Squash cupcakes were a hit at my recent “fall-themed” food fest. The Chocolate Cranberry cupcakes on the right were delicious, too

I often order the most intriguing thing on a menu. Unexpected flavor combinations? I’m on it. Savory when you’d expect sweet? Sign me up. Herbs in a cocktail? That’s what I’ll be drinking tonight.

So it shouldn’t surprise anyone that I like making “intriguing” recipes at home, too. I have a long list of recipes I plan to bake. And while many of them are pretty classic (e.g. peanut butter chocolate), others make people pause a second. Whenever I have people over I throw in one of my “intriguing” finds as a wildcard. Sometimes my friends can be a little skeptical about my experiments, but ultimately, they tend to come on board. Trust me: once you’ve had a hummus waffle, you won’t look back, either.

Here are some of my favorite “intriguing” recipes I’ve served over the past few years. Some were met with a bit of label shock – but they were all hits in the end!

Spiced Butternut Squash Cupcakes

Goat Cheese Sugar Cookies

Hummus Waffles

Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Zucchini Cookies

Rosemary Cookies

Cinnamon and Spice Sweet Potato Bread (I actually didn’t expect my guests to find this one unusual, but they did – and then they tried it, and loved it!)

Next on my list: 

Concord Grape Cornbread with Rosemary

Wild Rice Pancakes 

Parsnip Apple Muffins

Raspberry Goat Cheese Brownies

 

*Recipe Round-Up is going to be a new feature on my blog, where I collect recipes around a certain theme or ingredient. Let me know if you have any requests!

One Response to “Something Unexpected (Recipe Round-Up)”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Annual Report (vol. 2) | Culture Cookies - January 11, 2015

    […] Something Unexpected (Recipe Round-Up) […]

    Like

What Do You Think?

