The Shoes of San Francisco (Picture Prattle)

14 Aug
20130415_182618

Broadway and Romolo

I’ve lived in a few cities before San Francisco, but never before have I seen so many shoes on the sidewalks. I started taking pictures of these shoes a bit ago. There’s just something about them that makes me want to know more. I’m sure some of these shoes have sad stories: perhaps a homeless person accidentally left a shoe behind and forgot where he left it.  Some are probably disappointing stories: the rollerblade that fell out of someone’s bag as he threw it in the car. Some seem pretty purposeful: the pair of tennis shoes perched on top of a trashcan, poised as an offering to a new, deserving owner.

Here are some of my favorite photos of the shoes of San Francisco. I don’t know their stories, but I sure do wonder.

What Do You Think?

