The Great Cookie Swap

23 Dec

I’m always looking for opportunities to do a lot of baking. Every few months I invite friends over for a potluck of some sort, and while a potluck technically means everyone brings one dish – I always make at least 4. For my birthday, it was a brunch potluck. This fall, it was a lunch potluck. And yesterday it was…

DSCN0982

The main cookie table, as cookies started to pile up. We had to start as second cookie table once more guests arrived!

A cookie potluck! In honor of the cookie culture of the holidays, I decided to do a holiday-inspired cookie swap. But I left the rules pretty relaxed: guests were encouraged to bring cookies of any kind. Valentine’s Day cookies, Christmas cookies, holiday-agnostic cookies – whatever they wanted. I also didn’t require homemade cookies, because I never want my guests to feel like they have to do a lot of work before they come. So some friends bought store-brought cookies, one brought fudge, a few brought cookie-complementing drinks. We even had 2 kinds of home-made gluten-free cookies in the mix. All in all, quite the impressive spread.

I’d already been scheming about what kind of cookies to make before I even sent out the invitations. I keep a list of recipes I want to try, and the cookie section is currently at about 35 entries – so I had a lot of options! I ended up making 5 kinds of cookies for yesterday’s event. Some might say that making 5 types is overkill for a potluck… but I don’t think you can ever have enough cookies. The Swap was a wonderful afternoon that bled into evening, a party full of laughter, fun and, well, sugar. I consider Cookie Swap 1.0 a success – and I’m already scheming for 2.0!

Here are the recipes I made for yesterday’s swap. If you’re still looking for a dessert recipe for Christmas dinner, you might want to check these out.

DSCN0979

These were my entries into the swap. From L to R: pumpkin snickerdoodles, molasses chip, chocolate crinkles, chocolate chip orange, rosemary shortbread

Molasses Triple Chocolate Cookies: A spicy molasses base with a ton of ooey gooey chocolate baked in. Molasses is one of my favorite cookie flavorings, so I’d had my eyes on these for a while (via Averie Cooks)

Pumpkin Snickerdoodles: I’ve written about these before, because I made them last year. They were just as well received this time around (via Annie’s Eats)

Rosemary Cookies: These were my “wild card” of the day – I always throw one recipe in that my guests would never expect to see. They ended up being a huge hit.  It’s a cornmeal-tinged shortbread, with fresh rosemary baked in, which makes for a wonderful balance of sweet and savory. I didn’t do the filling the original recipe recommends, but will have to try it in full-fledged form another time. (via David Lebovitz, on Epicurious)

Chocolate Chip Orange Cookies: One of my favorite flavor combos, and a delightful take on chocolate chip cookies. I’ve had my eye on these for a long time, too. (via Chef in Training)

Cinnamon Chipotle Crinkles: These had an amazing chocolate depth, then a subtle chipotle kick. I made a similar cookie earlier this year, in vegan form  (via Healthy Delicious)

8 Responses to “The Great Cookie Swap”

  1. Averie @ Averie Cooks December 23, 2013 at 10:04 AM #

    Thanks for trying & linking my Molasses Triple Chocolate Cookies!

    Like

  2. Felicia December 23, 2013 at 4:47 PM #

    They were so delicious, I had to share! Thanks for answering all of my questions over on your blog as I prepped to make them.

    Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Cookie swap, sugars ♥ | - December 27, 2013

    […] The Great Cookie Swap (culturecookies.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

  2. Gluten-free Chocolate Fudge Cookies | Cup of Tea - December 27, 2013

    […] The Great Cookie Swap (culturecookies.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

  3. Orange Crush | Culture Cookies - January 13, 2014

    […] A friend brought some chocolate orange cookies to my recent cookie swap, and of course I squealed with delight, then begged her for the recipe. These cookies incorporate […]

    Like

  4. Herb’s the Word | Culture Cookies - January 22, 2014

    […] Cookies from David Lebovitz: I served these at my Cookie Swap, and even the rosemary-doubters turned into […]

    Like

  5. On to the Next One | Culture Cookies - May 31, 2014

    […] There was nostalgia for a week spent wandering around D.C. I shared the recipe for a successful cookie swap, and praised the deliciousness of frozen […]

    Like

  6. Cookie Swap Tips and Tricks | sugarsmith - December 15, 2016

    […] What’s better than seeing friends and eating cookies at the same time? I’ve hosted a few cookie exchanges over the years, and hope the tradition continues. But this isn’t Martha Stewart’s […]

    Like

What Do You Think?

