I Scream, You Scream

25 Aug

Summer means ice cream, right? Actually… wrong. In my opinion, EVERY season means ice cream. Whether it’s 40 degrees outside or 90, I’m always happy to enjoy some frozen deliciousness.

I’m far from traditional when it comes to ice cream, which means I like trying the most interesting flavors I can find. Sure, I can appreciate a tasty mint chip or a creamy vanilla. But I love exploring new flavors, from strawberry balsamic to goat cheese to star anise.

So what’s even better than an intriguing flavor? An intriguing format, of course.

Wikipearls, spherical ice cream (image from NPR)

You may remember my excitement when I tried a frozen s’more last month. And let’s not forget that my blog’s header features macaron ice cream sandwiches. So when a friend posted a NPR article about “futuristic” ice creams, I had to check it out. I definitely wasn’t disappointed by the list- but I was disappointed to learn that only a couple of the featured products are actually commercially available. On the “hard to find” list: an ice cream cake that incorporates cookies and meringue, ice cream that changes flavors as you eat it and spherical ice cream snacks created by a bioengineer. I think I’m most intrigued by the ice cream that changes flavors as you eat it- it’s perfect for indecisive orderers like myself. The list also includes two treats that really aren’t that hard to find: liquid nitrogen-based ice cream and out-of-the-box flavors.

It’s always fun to try something new, and very low-risk: if you don’t like it, you know you can always count on your friends Ben & Jerry to make things right!

While we’re on the topic, here’s a list of some of my favorite places to get a creative scoop:

Chicago's classic Rainbow Cone

Chicago’s classic Rainbow Cone

Chicago

Rainbow Cone: this cone combines 5 distinct flavors (pistachio, strawberry, chocolate, orange sherbet, and vanilla/walnut/cherry)

St. Louis

Ted Drewes: the best frozen custard I’ve had, and you can mix in all sorts of fun toppings- even pie

San Francisco

Swensen’s: orange chocolate is one of my favorite flavors, and very hard to find- thanks Swensen’s!

Bi Rite Creamery: forget the salted caramel that everyone raves about, I love their roasted banana

Los Angeles

Grom: delicious gelato, also in NYC

Milk: all kinds of ice cream sandwiches

San Diego

Chuao: I go here for the strawberry balsamic fudge

Toronto

Greg’s Ice Cream: home of the star anise flavor I mentioned above

NYC

Ample Hills: if the gooey butter cake flavor is available, you MUST get it

One Response to “I Scream, You Scream”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Perfect Partnership | Culture Cookies - October 20, 2013

    […] a related note: the last time I posted a list of favorite ice cream companies, it was really only a partial list- and readers noticed some of their favorites were […]

    Like

What Do You Think?

