Get Schooled

7 Feb

When I was younger, the Little House on the Prairie books were amongst my favorites. I read the whole series, dressed up as Laura Ingalls Wilder for a costume day, and loved to talk about the characters. I even wanted to live on a farm for a while… until my mom pointed out it’s actually a lot of work. The books made it sound like work, but they also made it sound so fun! They had a lot of struggles staying afloat, sure, but they also did exciting things like making maple candy in the snow. And churning butter sounded so fun in theory! I was always intrigued by the passages about little things that made their lives better: gifts at Christmas, going into town to get new cloth. It always boggled my mind that getting an orange for Christmas was so exciting for the kids- the difference in expectations between then and now was just so compelling to me.

I’d say the Little House books were probably my first foray into historical fiction, and they hold a special place in my heart. So I was really excited to see this post from Preservation in Pink pop up on my reader. Apparently today is Laura Ingalls Wilder’s birthday- happy birthday to her! In her honor, Preservation in Pink has posted a bunch of photos of schoolhouses from South Dakota, Kansas, Missouri and Wisconsin. The photos certainly take us back to a “simpler” time, when schoolhouses were 1 room and multi-grade rather than giant sprawling complexes with science centers and entrance exams for kindergarteners. Here are a couple of the photos, but you can check out the full collection here. Also check out her main post on Laura Ingalls here.

 

One Response to “Get Schooled”

  1. Kaitlin May 6, 2015 at 8:24 PM #

    thanks for linking to me! glad you enjoy it, too.

    Like

What Do You Think?

