Hey There Pumpkin

2 Nov

It’s been a while since I posted anything about food over here, which is obviously a catastrophe. So, to end the drought, I’m going to share my new favorite recipe. You’ll be thanking me for it, I promise.

Fall brings around this sudden urge to flavor everything with pumpkin, from drinks to desserts. As I’ve mentioned in the past, I didn’t have this automatic urge until I moved to a part of the country that actually has cold weather. I can’t honestly remember whether my hometown had Pumpkin Fever or not: I just know that I didn’t notice pumpkin’s hold on the collective American attention until I was in college. And once I learned that I liked pumpkin flavored things, I was doomed to seek out every type of pumpkin goodies I could possibly find. Ravioli, bread, hot chocolate- you name it! Now, the slightest hint of a fall-like chill makes me want to go to my kitchen and bake something with pumpkin in it. I’ve tried a lot of recipes over the past several years, from Pumpkin Nutella Bread to Pumpkin Pie Bars. But a few weeks ago I decided it was Cookie Day (doesn’t everyone have those?) and set out to find a good pumpkin cookie recipe.

The result? These delicious, delightful Pumpkin Snickerdoodles from a blog called Annie’s Eats. I baked them up for a pumpkin picking excursion with friends, and they were gobbled in a hurry. They’re a great cakey cookie with a mix of subtle spices. The pumpkin makes the base especially moist. As one of my friends put it, it’s sort of like two cookies- the snickerdoodle you’re used to up top, with a pumpkin-y base at the bottom. You’ll hit a few different flavors as you chomp down, but the flavors work really well together and there’s no sudden surprises. The recipe makes a ton of these things, and there were only 4 left by the end of our pumpkin picking day. I may or may not have eaten 3 of the leftover cookies.

In other words, get baking. Let me know how it goes!

P.S. I didn’t take a picture, and I can’t link to photos from the blog that originally posted the recipe. So, the photo shown here is from another blog that talked about the cookies: http://the-darjeelings.blogspot.com/2012/09/pumpkin-snickerdoodles.html  Don’t those cookies look delicious?! The original recipe is here: annies-eats.com/2011/09/23/pumpkin-snickerdoodles/

5 Responses to “Hey There Pumpkin”

  1. mmmarzipan November 2, 2012 at 9:30 AM #

    yum! 🙂

    Like

    • Felicia November 2, 2012 at 2:25 PM #

      seriously yum! and now i want more…

      Like

  2. mmmarzipan November 2, 2012 at 2:44 PM #

    will have to try! 🙂

    Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Great Cookie Swap | Culture Cookies - December 23, 2013

    […] Snickerdoodles: I’ve written about these before, because I made them last year. They were just as well received this time […]

    Like

  2. Rosemary Brown Sugar Snickerdoodles | sugarsmith - June 26, 2016

    […] cookies after high school. I rediscovered my love a few years ago when I tried a recipe for Pumpkin Snickerdoodles. Pumpkin in the batter made the cookies even more moist, and pumpkin pie spice added flavor […]

    Like

What Do You Think?

