Give Me, Give Me S’Mores (Picture Prattle)

24 Jun

If you’ve ever met with school admissions officers, you’ve probably heard them say that the best admissions essays come from applicants who write about “what they know best.” My high school self took that advice to heart- and so I decided to write my college entrance essay about s’mores. I won’t lie, I loved that essay. I had some truly poetic descriptions in there… toasting marshmallows, melting chocolate, enjoying the sunset. I was pretty proud.

My love for s’mores hasn’t died down one bit since high school. I even had my parents bring me graham crackers when I was studying abroad so I could teach my new international friends the magnificence of the s’more (I know, I’m such a good cultural ambassador, right?). So you can imagine my squeals of delight when I saw the grocery store display pictured below.

I’ve talked in prior posts about product adjacency strategy, which is when when a store sells related products near each other to trigger additional purchases. For example, a display of Oreo cookies right by the milk in the dairy case. The hope is that the customer goes to buy milk, sees the Oreos, makes the connection and BAM, two sales instead of one. But in the case of the s’mores display to the left, the product match-up is most certainly not subtle. This is a promotional bundle, and the special price advertised for each component only applies if you buy all three of the products in this display. You have to buy the exact same size, brand, etc. or the discounts don’t apply.

I obviously don’t know what impact this display has had on store sales, but I love the idea. I can totally imagine someone walking through the store, seeing the display, and deciding to impulse buy these three ingredients to have some s’mores fun. I’d be curious to see other bundle displays that are less situational and more everyday- items that are more likely to already be on someone’s shopping list, like peanut butter, jelly and bread. My guess is that the shopper behavior around a peanut butter display would be different. I’m sure it’d sell because of its practicality, but it probably wouldn’t elicit the same emotional response as a display tempting you to make a delicious treat of marshmallows and chocolate.

Just for the record, my s’mores essay was one of three that I wrote for college applications. The other two essays were about one of my top hobbies and…. the world’s largest bottle of ketchup. But let’s not joke around here- I’ll take s’mores over ketchup ANY day.

7 Responses to “Give Me, Give Me S’Mores (Picture Prattle)”

  1. robin July 14, 2012 at 12:02 AM #

    I saw this display in a store last night and I said to my mom–Felicia says there is some fancy name for when they put the products you use together on display in the same place, this was her example in her blog!

    Like

    • Felicia July 14, 2012 at 3:22 PM #

      Ahhh love it! So glad to be the voice in your head at the grocery store 🙂

      Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Style Me Pretty | Culture Cookies - August 14, 2012

    […] when you were a high school senior and everyone talked nonstop about college applications? I hated that. It drove me insane to have people ask me about test scores, application plans, […]

    Like

  2. The 2nd Year | Culture Cookies - May 26, 2013

    […] Bars: I’m far from shy about my love of smores. This cookie recipe is delicious to the […]

    Like

  3. Frozen S’mores: The Dessert I Never Knew I Needed | Culture Cookies - July 31, 2013

    […] no secret that I love s’mores. It’s also no secret that I love ice cream. So when I heard that New York City bakery […]

    Like

  4. When E-Commerce Algorithms Get It Wrong | Culture Cookies - April 3, 2016

    […] to go with your drinks. Another adjacency strategy comes via promotional displays: for example, a s’mores bundle promotion I wrote about a few years […]

    Like

  5. S’Mores Brownies | sugarsmith - August 10, 2016

    […] have long been one of my favorite treats. I have fond memories of sitting around the beach fire pits near my high school, making […]

    Like

What Do You Think?

