What a Year

27 May

It’s been a year since I started this blog- and what a year it’s been! The blog was born as I stood in my living room, staring at my bookshelves. There’s probably at least one big difference between my bookshelves and yours: I don’t own many English-language books. Instead, my shelves are full of French novels, Spanish plays, poetry in Medieval French… you get the point. And as I stood staring at my books last year, I had flashbacks to the many late nights I had spent in college analyzing those very books. And then I realized just how much I missed writing essays.

By the end of college I was writing at least 2 papers per week: one in French, one in Spanish. Add in the thesis, the research fellowship and the occasional student newspaper article and you’ll see that I was writing a LOT. But post-college, formal opportunities to write dwindled.  And I found that I really missed analyzing culture, looking at language, sorting out my thoughts and writing them down. I realize it isn’t 100% normal to say you miss writing essays. But hey, I’ve never claimed to be 100% normal. So I decided to start a blog where I could write about whatever I wanted, whether it was an exploratory topic like cultural differences (see “Donde Esta el Status Report”) or something fun like cupcakes (see “What Do You Want, Cupcake?“).

Since I started writing this, oh so much has changed. The past year has seen me move across the country, switch jobs, and pretty much change my point of view. I’ve made new friends, learned new things, seen new places. I’ve told you all about return policies, rambled on about word choice and waxed poetic about nostalgia brands.  It’s been a lot of fun, and I certainly don’t plan to stop writing. So stay tuned, dear readers- more culture cookies coming soon!

What Do You Think?

