On to the Next One

This is the cake I would buy for my blog if it could eat cake… Maybe I should just get one for myself? Picture from the Sweet Shop Lulu blog (click on the picture to see their super cute party supply shop)

This week marks my blog’s 3rd birthday – and I’m so happy to celebrate with you! It’s been another good year, full of twists and turns between baked goods and marketing and travel stories. I’ve debated whether it’s fair to expect other countries to feel “sufficiently foreign.” I introduced you to one of my favorite professors and her charming memoir about studying abroad in France. I’ve traced the role sugar played in the development of modern consumerism (and for the record, I’m really proud of that post’s title). I’ve looked at what happens when Abercrombie and Fitch declares they don’t want to sell their clothes to people above a certain size. There was an ode to traveling alone, encouraging everyone to try to it, even if it’s just for a few hours. I rambled on about the virtues of gooey butter cake. There was nostalgia for a week spent wandering around D.C. I shared the recipe for a successful cookie swap, and praised the deliciousness of frozen s’mores.

But most of all, dear readers, I got to engage with you. I appreciate every single one of you who ever clicks on this blog, whether it’s via the WordPress homepage, an email subscription, a link from a friend, or maybe even one of my shameless self-promotions on social media. As we head into Culture Cookies’ 4th year, I’d like to thank you all for coming to my little corner of the Internet. And I’d like to encourage you to comment on what you read here, tell me what you think, maybe even challenge me. The best writers grow with feedback, and the best thinkers grow with debate.

Til next time, my friends.

 

5 comments

  1. I’m looking at those macaroons at the top and now I’m hungry!

    Congrats 4-year-old blog! Kindergarten next year?

    Like

What Do You Think?